top of page
Barangay Namayan Receives SGLB Award

The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Field Office Mandaluyong has recognized Barangay Namayan through the Seal of Good Local Governance for Barangays (SGLGB) for the year 2023.

The award was given to Namayan for “upholding the standard of transparency, integrity, and service delivery” for the covered year 2022, which are the qualifying factors for achieving the SGLB. In accordance with the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) and SGLGB programs, LGUs and barangays must pass the following governance areas: financial administration and sustainability; disaster preparedness; social protection and sensitivity; health compliance and responsiveness; sustainable education; business friendliness and competitiveness; safety, peace, and order; environmental management; tourism; heritage development; culture; and youth development.

Mayor Benjamin “Ben” Abalos Sr., Vice Mayor Menchie Abalos, and DILG Mandaluyong Field Office Director Patrick Megia personally presented the award to Barangay Namayan during the Monday morning program of the city on October 16 at the Mandaluyong Executive Building.

Aside from Namayan, Barangay Plainview, Barangay Daang Bakal, Barangay New Zaniga, Barangay Old Zaniga, and Barangay Wack Wack also passed the city-level assessment.

On the same day, three more barangays were awarded the 2023 Lupon Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA). Barangay Plainview was awarded as the Outstanding Lupon, while Barangay Zaniga and Barangay Addition Hills were 1st and 2nd runner-up, respectively.

CPD-CAR Awards Most Outstanding Barangay Volunteers

The Commission on Population and DevelopmentCordillera(CPD-CAR) recognized the efforts of six barangay volunteers in the city and municipality level of Cordillera Administrative Region during the 2023 Rafael M. Salas Kaunlarang Pantao Awards held in Baguio City on October 2, 2023.

For the city level, Honeylee Geronimo (Laya West, Tabuk City) placed first followed by Maridel Laron (Pucsusan, Baguio City) while Maryjane Pasiteng (Atok Trail, Baguio City) was awarded as third placer.

Meanwhile, the municipality category had Junaline Valdez (Camp 3, Tuba, Benguet) as the most outstanding, Angela Andrada (Bila, Bauko, Mountain Province) as the second placer and Juliet Tabao-ic (Palina, Kibungan, Benguet) as the third placer.

“Volunteers are the lifeblood of any community, and you, our awardees, exemplify this truth through your acts of kindness, generosity, and service. Your willingness to devote your time, skills, and passion to make a positive difference is inspiring and heartwarming. Each act of kindness, no matter how small, has a profound impact on the lives of those you touch in the communities,” CPD-CAR Regional Director Cecile Basawil said as she congratulated every winner.

The award aims to recognize the efforts of community population volunteers in promoting programs relating to population and development and to keep the volunteers inspired and motivated.

The awardees received a plaque and cash prizes.

bottom of page